Wm. Hovey Smith - Author of Backyard Deer Hunting
hoveysmith.com
Books and products for and about the outdoors.
Reviews

Cynthia Brian, Starstyle Be the Star You Are, Feb. 5, 2010

Dear Hovey,

Thank you so much for being a guest on my show, Starstyle-Be the Star You Are! You were amazing and offered such insights to our listeners. Your expertise in hunting and game cooking are so appreciated. This was a teriffic interview.

(The interview may be heard at http://www.voiceamerica.com/worldtalkradio/vshot.aspx?sid=764 ).

 

Jim Slinsky, Outdoor Talk Network, Oct. 20, 2009

 Thanks again for appearing on my show.

 You did an excellent job.

 You are a likable man.

 Good luck with your book.

 I hope we meet, someday.

 Best of luck in every way.

 

Steve Lightfoot, Texas Sporting Journal, Oct. 14, 2009

  "You have some amazing resources in your books. I will let you know when I have an opening in the magazine."

Brandon Butler, Midwest Sporting Journal, Sept. 24, 2009

  "One of the more practical deer hunting books to come along in quite some time."

Jerry Evans Safari Club International Radio

  Interview available on line at http://www.scifirstforhunters.ort/static/radio as episode 57.4.

 

Nancy Jo Adams, Women's Outdoor News, Sept. 8, 2009

 "Another chapter in Backyard Deer Hunting that will pique the interest of hunters, as well as the cook in the hunter's life, is dedicated to cooking, where you will find everything from lists of basic kitchen implements through desserts. This chapter is not only committed to deer dishes of every sort, it includes recipes for squirrel, rabbit, duck pheasant, turkey and even panfish. It also consist of some great recipes for vegetables, desserts and side dishes." (Nancy Jo tried some of my recipes and said that she liked the result.)

 

Bob Humphrey, Maine Outdoor Journal, Sept. 1, 2009

 "Backyard Deer Hunting is not just another time killer and space filler for the avid whitetail enthusiast. Far from it - it's a single reference that covers deer hunting A to Z, from the initial steps of taking a hunter safety course to ultimately putting meals on the family's dinner table." 

Kenneth L. Kiesler, August 3, 2009

"Backyard Deer Hunting is an extremely useful book for a beginning or experienced deer hunter. I am waiting closer to deer season to run a review. Good job!

A great book!"

"...unlike anything the likes of you have ever read."

                                    Kenneth Keiser, "I agree!"

Ken Perrott, Fredericksburg (VA) News, July 30, 2009

Wm. Hovey Smith's book, "Backyard Deer Hunting: Converting deer to dinner for pennies per pound" is a soup to nuts primer designed to help people capitalize on burgeoning deer populations and feed a family for " pennies a pound" during these tough economic times.

In a lengthy article that follows, Perrott comments that the book is much more comprehensive than a traditional cookbook in also offering useful tips for novice and long-time hunters. He also comments favorably on the books "folksy" style, and states that it has valuable content for all wild-game cooks, regardless of previous experience.

From Julie on the Blog Fresh Basil, May 7, 2009

 NPR is asking for readers to submit meals that will feed four that come in for under $10. There are over 300 recipes submitted so far! (This radio media event has since closed.)

 Many of the recipes contain rice and beans -- the cheap pantry staples -- but some are so creative and fun. Sweet Potato kale quesadillas, brined pork with strawberry chutney, Moroccan chicken tagine, and on and on.

 An entry from William Hovey Smith takes us way beyond rice and beans with a recipe for Road Kill Deer Stew. Luckily for us, William (I go by Hovey) has a book coming out soon: Backyard Deer Hunting: Converting Deer to Dinner for Pennies per Pound! I think that I speak for everyone William: Thank you for this amaizing guift to literature.